Expeditions: Hispanic countries

Marcos Arakaki, conductor
Aliéksey Vianna, guitar
Jovana Trifunovic, violin
Tiago Ellwanger, violin
João Carlos Ferreira, viola
Eduardo Swerts, violoncello

|    Expeditions

Tango Ballet
Tres aires chilenos
Concierto de Aranjuez
El sombrero de tres picos [Three-Cornered Hat]: Suite No. 1
Danzas Fantásticas, Op. 22
Goyescas: Intermezzo

Marcos Arakaki, conductor

Marcos Arakaki is the Associate Conductor of the Minas Gerais Philharmonic. He has also led other important orchestras in Brazil, United States, Mexico, Argentina, Czech Republic and Ukraine. Pinchas Zukerman, Gabriela Montero, Sergio Tiempo, Anna Vinnitskaya and Sofya Gulyak are among the renowned artists he has played with. In 2001, Arakaki won the Eleazar de Carvalho Competition for Young Conductors and, in 2009, the Camargo Guarnieri Prize, both in Brazil. He has served as the Principal Conductor in the Paraíba Symphony Orchestra and Brazilian Symphony Youth Orchestra. Leading the Brazilian Symphony, he recorded the soundtrack for the movie Our Home, composed by Philip Glass. Born in São Paulo, Arakaki holds a Bachelor’s degree in Violin from the São Paulo State University (Unesp) and a Master’s degree in Orchestral Conducting from the University of Massachusetts. Over the last ten years, he gave major contributions to the development of new audiences for symphonic music in Brazil, participating in orchestral tours to more than 70 cities in the whole country.

Aliéksey Vianna started studying guitar in Belo Horizonte, his hometown, and soon went abroad to pursue his career. He obtained a Bachelor’s degree from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, class of David Tanenbaum, and two Master’s degrees from the Musik Akademie der Stadt Basel – classical guitar, in the class of Pablo Marquez, and jazz guitar, in the class of Wolfgang Muthspiel. A winner in over 20 international classical guitar competitions, Aliéksey has performed as soloist in more than 30 countries, in collaboration with renowned musicians from different genres, including Pierre Boulez, Petri Sakari, Sérgio Assad, Paul McCandless, Dusan Bogdanovic, Peter Erskine and Tracy Silverman. He has been a frequent guest musician in many festivals, and has performed with acclaimed ensembles such as the Sinfonieorchester Basel (Switzerland), Turku Philharmonic (Finland) and Aukso Tychy Chamber Orchestra (Poland). Aliéksey released five albums, the most recent in 2017 with Venezuelan bassist Roberto Koch.

Jovana was born in Paracin, Serbia. She taught violin at Miloje Milojevic Music School, in the city of Kragujevac, also in her home country. In Belgrade, she was a member of the RTS Symphony Orchestra and of Dusan Skovran and St. George Strings chamber orchestras. In 2001, Jovana won third place in the Petar Konjovic International Competition. The next year, she got first place in the Republic Competition, category Chamber Music (duo) – Violin and laureat. As student, she received awards from the Miodrag Macic and the Meri Dragutinovic foundations. Jovana is member of the Minas Gerais Philharmonic since 2008.

Born in Campo Bom, South region of Brazil, Tiago was member of the University of Caxias do Sul Symphony, the Green Bay Symphony, Sheboygan Symphony and YOA Orchestra of the Americas. He played with renowned conductors such as Carlos Miguel Prieto, Dante Anzolini, Isaac Karabtchevsky, Bridget-Michaele Reischl and Osvaldo Ferreira. As soloist, he performed with the UFRGS Orchestra and the Ulbra Chamber Orchestra. Among the awards Tiago has earned are the Sesi Orchestra Young Soloists, UWM Concerto Competition and UTK Concerto Competition. In 2003, he also won Curitiba Chamber Music Competition with pianist Francisco Dellandréa, for their performances of Villa-Lobos’ compositions. Tiago has a Bachelor’s degree from the Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul and a Master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. He is a violinist of the Minas Gerais Philharmonic since 2010.

João Carlos started his professional career as violist in the Minas Gerais Philharmonic, where he holds the position of Principal Viola since 2009. Born in Juiz de Fora, the musician previously served as a member of the Brazilian Symphony Orchestra and the Radamés Gnattali Quartet. With this group, he received the 2007-2009 Rumos Itaú Cultural Award. A chamber music enthusiast, João Carlos leads the Villani-Côrtes Trio, formed with Minas Gerais Philharmonic colleagues Jovana Trifunovic and Eduardo Swerts. Recently, the trio released the album Três Tons Brasileiros [Three Brazilian Tones]. As a soloist, Ferreira performed with Petrobras, Espírito Santo, Federal University of Minas Gerais and Federal University of Rio de Janeiro symphony orchestras, as well as with the Minas Gerais Philharmonic. Other remarkable performances were given alongside Antonio Meneses, Roman Simovic, Márcio Carneiro, Bessler Quartet and Sigiswald Kuijken.

Eduardo has been a member of orchestras in Brazil, Germany, in the Festival delle Nazioni in Italy and, for two seasons, he was Principal Cello of the YOA Orchestra of the Americas. He has performed as soloist in Portugal, Germany, and at the premiere of Dos Pampa Sur by Rufo Herrera, with the Ouro Preto Chamber Orchestra. With pianist Risa Adachi, Eduardo won the Münster Chamber Music Competition, performing in Germany, Greece and Portugal. It was also in Germany that he obtained his Master’s degree, Artist Diploma and completed Chamber Music courses at the Musikhochschule Münster and at the Robert Schumann Hochschule. For three years, he also gave cello lessons at German music schools. Born in Belo Horizonte, Eduardo graduated in Music at the Minas Gerais State University (UEMG) and joined the Minas Gerais Philharmonic in 2012.

Programa de Concerto

18 Aug 2018
Saturday, 6:00 pm

Minas Gerais Hall
|    more information about tickets
I want to be reminded of this concert.
add to calendar 18/08/2018 6:00 PM America/Sao_Paulo Expeditions: Hispanic countries false DD/MM/YYYY
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1